Monday, November 7, 2011


I had the privilege and the honor to have my work recognized, and to be invited to design the jackets for the Original Freedom Riders. The riders were being honored for the 50th celebration of the freedom rider movement , this weekend at the Renaissance Hotel by the NAACP. Their are 11 original riders :Patricia Jenkins Armstrong, William F.H. Barbee(deceased), Dr. Allen Cason, Dr. Federick Leonard, Joy Reagon Leonard, Kwame Leo Lillard, Salynn McCollium, Dr. Ernest Rip Patton, Dr. Etta Marie Simpson Ray, Dr. Mary Jean Smith and Matthew Walker Jr. . I was so excited and proud to be a part of such a historical event , for a legendary group of individuals. Thank you to The Freedom Riders for having the courage to stand tall and put your life on the line for all americans to walk, talk ,dine work, and to be educated together . I also did the design of the bus for the event, hope you all enjoy.

No comments:

Post a Comment